Hawken Speech and Debate Team Named State Champions!

The Hawken Speech and Debate Team competed at the Ohio Speech and Debate Association state tournament February 29 - March 2, at Wooster High School. The Hawks emerged as Team State Champions! This is the team's fourth team state championship, having won previously in 2014, 2016, and 2021.
This year, Massillon Perry finished in third place with 553 points, Solon in second place with 583 points, and Hawken in first place with 692 points.

Our policy debaters did especially well with four teams advancing to elimination rounds including three teams (out of eight) in quarter-finals, two teams (out of four) in semi-finals, and the state champion. 170 of our sweepstakes points were from policy debate (with St. Ignatius in second place policy sweepstakes with 106 points and Solon in third place policy sweepstakes with 46 points.)

Jack Kampine '25 and Delicia Liao ' 25 are state champions in Policy Debate.
Maia Tritt '25 won the Phyllis Barton Award for Top Speaker in Policy Debate.
Carlo Polisena'24 is the state runner-up in Original Oratory.
(Jack, Delicia, and Carlo have qualified for the Hawken Speech and Debate Wall of Fame.)
Other students who were honored at the awards ceremony:
Chloe Leng '25 - third place in International Extemporaneous Speaking
Breck DuPaul '25 - third place in Congressional Debate - House
Max Leebow '26 and Maia Tritt '25 - semi-finalists (top 4) in Policy Debate
Neelan Subhas '27 and Axel Neely '25 - quarter-finalists (top 8) in Policy Debate
Brooke Gemechu '26 - quarter-finalist (top 8) in Lincoln Douglas Debate
John Joyce '25 and Ben Miyares '26 (top 8) in Public Forum Debate
Students who were presented with awards prior to the awards ceremony:
Abigail Piazza '26 and Anne Taich '27 - octa-finalists (top 9) in Policy Debate
Isabella Bixler '26 - semi-finalist (top 12) in Declamation
Josie Bullock '26 - semi-finalist (top 12) in Dramatic Interp
Serin Arikan '24 - semi-finalist (top 12) in Informative Speaking
Manan Raina '25 - semi-finalist (top 12) in US Extemporaneous Speaking
Siraat Khan '27 - finalist (top 15) in Congressional Debate - Senate
Jeremy Rotberg '26 and Jack Martinez '26 - octa-finalists (top 16) in Public Forum
Other students who made it to elimination rounds:
Samuel Berlin '24, Nicole Rashidi '26, and Sam Kang '24 - semi-finalists (top 64) in Congressional Debate - House
Izabella Bashkin '26 - semi-finalist (top 48) in Congressional Debate  - Senate
Ellie McAndrew '26 - quarter-finalist (top 24) in Informative Speaking
Pranay Gupta '24 and Nathan Kalhan '25 - double-octa-finalists (top 32) in Lincoln Douglas Debate
Congratulations to our coaches: Kate Mozynski and Melinda Dus - Policy Debate, David Childree - Extemporaneous Speaking and Congressional Debate, Susan McGraw and Lynn Beeson - Platform and Interp, Eva Lamberson - Lincoln Douglas Debate, and Bob Shurtz - Public Forum Debate.
An independent, coeducational, college preparatory day school, toddler through grade 12

Early Childhood, Lower, and Middle Schools, 5000 Clubside Rd, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Birchwood School of Hawken, 4400 West 140th Street, Cleveland, OH 44135 

Upper School, PO Box 8002 (12465 County Line Rd), Gates Mills, OH 44040
Mastery School of Hawken, 11025 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Gries Center, 10823 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Directions  |  Log in  |  440-423-4446