School Leadership

A graduate of DePauw University and Northwestern University, D. Scott Looney became Hawken’s tenth head of school in July, 2006. During his tenure, he has overseen the development of Hawken’s urban extension campus in University Circle, a new Early Childhood Center, and a state-of the-art Upper School academic facility. In addition, Scott is the Founder of the Mastery Transcript Consortium, an organization of over 150 independent schools working together to change the high school system of assessment, crediting and transcripting. Prior to becoming head of Hawken, Scott spent eleven years at Cranbrook Schools in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, where he served in various capacities including Assistant Director of Schools, Co-Head of the Girls Middle School, Director of External Affairs, and Director of Admission and Financial Aid. Before Cranbrook, he was Director of Admissions at Lake Forest Academy in Lake Forest, Illinois and Assistant Dean of Admissions at Phillips Academy in Andover, Massachusetts. Scott is an influential voice in the national independent school arena, as well as a published author and frequent lecturer. Scott has served as a trustee and executive committee member of the National Association of Independent School (NAIS), faculty member at the NAIS Institute for New Heads and the NAIS Financing Institute, and Executive Director of the Midwest Boarding Schools Association.

"The best schools preserve and nurture the natural ardor for learning in children. While the harsh realities of the greater world can sap a child’s energies, the best schools work to find inner passion and curiosity in all their students."

-D. Scott Looney

Board of Trustees

Charles P. Cooley, Chair
Samuel P. Gerace, Vice Chair
Blair K. Haas ’72, Vice Chair
Paul N. Harris, Vice Chair
Steven M. Ross ’84, Vice Chair
Alan D. Rosskamm, Vice Chair
Andrew Ross, Treasurer
Janice W. Hawwa, Secretary

Himanshu S. Amin
Daniel Brown
Steven M. Dettelbach ’84
Tamara Durn Doody ’85
Dan F. Grajzl
Stacie L. Halpern
Kendra Howley
John LeMay
Brinton C. Lincoln ’94
James “Deej” Lincoln, Jr. ’91
Robert W. Mallett ’93
Julie K. Mangini
Summer Paris
Natalie Ronayne
Debra Adams Simmons
Lauren B. Spilman
David Sylvan
Dominic A. Visconsi, Jr. ’77
Meredith Smith Weil ’85

Life Trustees
Jeffrey M. Biggar ’68
Charles P. Bolton ’57
Robert W. Bruml ’72
William E. Bruner II ’67
David A. Daberko
Whitney Evans ’51
Leigh L. Fabens
Sally L. Gries
K.P. Horsburgh, Jr. ’65
G. Russell Lincoln ’64
William C. McCoy ’38
John Sherwin, Jr. ’53
Anthoni Visconsi II ’71

Visiting Committee

Jeffrey M. Biggar ’68, Chair
Donald R. Allman ’70
Robert J. Anslow ’77
Todd A. Barrett ’83
Scott M. Beatty ’77
Brooke Buckley ’94
Dennis P. Fisco ’73
Paul Franklin ’02
Jonathan W. Friedland ’86
Timothy M. George ’70
Adam M. Guren ’99
Todd R. Horn ’73
Peter A. Horvitz ’72
Caleb Hsieh ’94
Wendy Morton Hudson ’86
Daniel Hurwitz
Charles N. Jordan ’65
Henri Pell Junod, Jr. ’59
Blake Kleinman ’95
William H. Lewis ’86
P. Jeffrey Lucier
David A. McCreery ’81
Tom Murphy ’89
Sarah Dorenkott Pearson ’06
Leon Pryor ’92
Randy F. Rizor ’70
Michael Rosskamm ’97
John Schirm ’01
Theodore “Tod” Sedgwick ’66
Paul C. Shiverick ’71
John Shubert ’74
Carl E. Smith ’74
Bradley A. Stirn ’68
S. Tucker Taft ’70

Emeriti Visiting
Committee Members
Laura Rosenfeld Barnes ’84, Emerita
Kathleen Bole ’77, Emerita
Rodger S. Rickard, Emeritus
An independent, coeducational, college preparatory day school, toddler through grade 12

Lower & Middle Schools, 5000 Clubside Rd, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Birchwood School of Hawken, 4400 West 140th Street, Cleveland, OH 44135 

Upper School, PO Box 8002 (12465 County Line Rd), Gates Mills, OH 44040
Mastery School of Hawken, 11025 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Gries Center, 10823 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Directions  |  Log in  |  440-423-4446