27 Seniors Recognized in National Merit Competition

Congratulations to the 27 Hawken students, representing 21% of Hawken’s senior class, who received recognition in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program. 

Hawken’s 16 semifinalists are seniors Ashwin Balakrishna, Aiden Berard, Spencer Fisher, Lillian Fu, Zayd Haufe (Mastery School of Hawken), Harsha Sanaka, Yian Shang, John Shin, Jasmine Shone, Grace Shum, Ryan Si, Nikhil Subhas, Moshi Tang, Timothy Toliver, Owen Tritt, Eliana Wolf. Semifinalists will be notified of their advancement to the finalist level in February of 2023.
Eleven additional seniors were named commended scholars in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Fletcher Allyn, Julien Benchek, Abhiram Chundru, Sneha Dhital, Jackson Eippert, Mehul Lakhanpal, Grant Nelson, Mayur Patel, Chase Sloan, Harrison WangElla Wong.
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit organizaiton that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximatley 400 business organizations and higher education instutuions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.
An independent, coeducational, college preparatory day school, toddler through grade 12

Lower & Middle Schools, 5000 Clubside Rd, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Birchwood School of Hawken, 4400 West 140th Street, Cleveland, OH 44135 

Upper School, PO Box 8002 (12465 County Line Rd), Gates Mills, OH 44040
Mastery School of Hawken, 11025 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Gries Center, 10823 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Directions  |  Log in  |  440-423-4446