15 Seniors Recognized in National Merit Competition

Congratulations to the 15 Hawken students, representing 12% of the Class of 2020, who received recognition in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Hawken’s eight semifinalists are seniors Deena Akras, Andrew Caplan, Martin Ellis, Sammi Fremont, Grant Griffin, Daniel Kotrebai, Amrita Mukunda, and Sylvia Stewart-Bates. Seven additional seniors were named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Sam Axner, Timothy Dang, Zayne El-Kaissi, Ishan Gupta, Zachary Rutherford, Corina Stasiak, and Amar Vyas. Semifinalists will be notified of their advancement to the finalist level in February of 2020.

These students continue a long tradition of Merit Scholar excellence, earning Hawken the distinction of the highest number of National Merit Semifinalists amongst Cleveland area peer schools for the past ten years.
The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. This year, over 1.6 million students entered the competition as juniors when they took the Preliminary SAT test. The semifinalists represent an elite group that makes up less than one percent of high school seniors nationally and includes the highest scoring test takers in each state.

Hawken School | Lower & Middle Schools, 5000 Clubside Rd, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Upper School, PO Box 8002 (12465 County Line Rd), Gates Mills, OH 44040
Gries Center, 10823 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106