Seniors Crowned State Champs in Debate Tournament

Seniors Mike Gwin and Ozan Cubukcu were named state champions at The Ohio High School Speech League State Tournament held on March 5th and 6th at John Carroll University, Hathaway Brown School, and Laurel School. After 10 rounds of competition, Gwin and Cubukcu defeated Canfield in the final round on a 5-0 decision. Sixty-one public forum teams from throughout the state (having qualified by placing high in the district tournaments in February) competed.

This was Mike’s second trip to the final round of the tournament; he was state runner-up in 2008 as a sophomore.

Other Hawken students honored at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday night were Michael Eby ’10 and Paul Macklis ‘11, who were quarter-finalists in Policy Debate. Teammates who made it to elimination rounds included: Kyle Dipre, semi-finalist in Humorous Interpretation; Maya Shumyatcher ‘10, quarter-finalist in Prose-Poetry; Aubrey Schefft ’12 and Anthony Hsieh ‘12, octa-finalists in Policy Debate; Peter Mintun ’10 and Alex Zempolich ‘10, octa-finalists in Public Forum Debate; and Omar Diab ‘10, octa-finalist in Lincoln Douglas Debate.

Congratulations to the entire team and to Coach Hugh Thompson and Program Director Bob Shurtz on a fantastic showing!
An independent, coeducational, college preparatory day school, toddler through grade 12

Lower & Middle Schools, 5000 Clubside Rd, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Birchwood School of Hawken, 4400 West 140th Street, Cleveland, OH 44135 

Upper School, PO Box 8002 (12465 County Line Rd), Gates Mills, OH 44040
Mastery School of Hawken, 11025 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Gries Center, 10823 Magnolia Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106

Directions  |  Log in  |  440-423-4446